Skip to content

2011 in Review: Part 1 – January, February, and March

December 13, 2011

I love the idea of these weekly year in review posts for the month of December, so I’m joining in the fun. There were a lot of changes for us each month this year since there was a baby in the house, growing up a bit more each month.

January

Brinky was born right before Christmas, so we were just settling into life with a new baby in the house in January. I was on maternity leave, enjoying a life of watching Mad Men and constantly feeding a baby.

Jenny was easily settling into her life as a big sister. She was immediately a natural.

Reagan was promoted to Level 1 in gymnastics, which made her very, very happy.  She also celebrated her 7th birthday with a last minute birthday party at Funigan’s. I took a 4 week old baby with me, cozily being carried in his Baby Bjorn. At the end of the party, I was talking to one of the other mothers and playing with Brinky’s foot and noticed that my hand was suddenly full of pee because Brinky had somehow peed enough that it went through his diaper, ran down his leg, and poured out into my hand. It was awesome. Maybe that’s what prevented me from taking any pictures at that party now that I look back and can’t find any?

Brinky had lots of sleep smiles and struggled with the fact that he couldn’t poop. And he had his first real smile that was so amazingly cute. And he celebrated his one month birthday. He looked so little even though he was almost 10 pounds when he was born!

A few pictures from January:

February

In February, I returned to work when Brinky was 6 weeks old, ending my somewhat relaxing days of maternity leave. And Lee and Brinky started their fun times here at home together. It went so much better than we dreamed it could. Lee made my return to work easier by blogging often about what was going on during their days so I could still know what was going on. Oh, and I turned 33.

Jenny had her first real gymnastics meet as a Level 3 gymnast. She did well, but it didn’t make her think she wanted to stick with gymnastics for life.

Speaking of gymnastics (which I swear is not the only thing we do), Reagan had a great first demo day, even though she never performs up to her own standards.

Both girls had their first school dance for Valentine’s Day, enjoyed with two of their friends, their mom, and their baby brother.

Brinky celebrated his 2 month birthday and kept on growing. He was 14 lbs. 5 oz. and 25 inches at his 2 month checkup.

February pictures:

March

Brinky and Lee started really settling into a routine at home. And I tried not to ruin it every evening and weekend by letting him just sleep on me wherever we were.

Brinky celebrated his 3 month birthday. And he let us know he did not like tummy time. His love for his pets started then, too. He also started enjoying his Jumperoo and Dora.

Reagan apparently spent a lot of time listening to I Want It That Way on Jenny’s iPod Touch (before she lost it) and singing along. We caught her.

Jenny and I bonded by playing lots of Super Mario Bros. on the Wii and having talks that she loves having even though they stress me out about how she’s growing up.

Really, March wasn’t the most exciting month for us. But sometimes I like months like that.

Well, that was harder than I expected because my memory sucks, but it was lots of fun. There are still a few more hours to link up if you want to join in!

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 9:33 am

    Funny, our baby boys were born within weeks of each other and they have a lot of the same little sleepers 🙂 Those are some girls who LOVE their baby brother, clearly! My fav is him sitting on the toilet though 🙂

    • December 13, 2011 10:56 am

      Great minds think alike, right? (Or we have similar people buying some clothing for our babies, too.) My girls do absolutely love their baby brother. And my husband’s still hoping to get him potty trained in year 1, but I don’t think we’ll make it 🙂

  2. December 13, 2011 12:23 pm

    Yea! So glad you are recapping with us! Your baby is so so cute!! Love the monthly picture with the onsie- such a good idea.
    And so awesome that your girls are doing so well in gymnastics, sounds like it keeps them both really busy.
    I have your point recorded for the first week 🙂

    • December 14, 2011 7:09 pm

      Thank you! I’m hoping to post a little earlier for the next week and have more time to read through everyone else’s posts. It’s fun to review the year this way.

  3. December 13, 2011 3:35 pm

    Wonderful recap! I loved your photos. It’s especially fun to see your little guy. That angry picture of him in March made me laugh–so cute! And your January stories brought back many newborn memories!

  4. laci512 permalink
    December 13, 2011 10:15 pm

    What a great recap. Wonderful picture of the first part of 2011. I love seeing picture of little ones the first few months. They develope so quickly and are so cute!

  5. December 14, 2011 9:18 am

    I love this idea! Great recap. Love all the pictures. Looking forward to seeing part 2!

  6. December 14, 2011 11:43 am

    I missed the part when you didn’t let Brinky sleep on you wherever and whenever he wanted. Is that something you’re planning for March 2012?

    • December 14, 2011 7:11 pm

      I don’t always let him sleep on me whenever he wants anymore. At least I don’t think I do.

Trackbacks

  1. 2011 in Review: Part 2 – April, May and June | Your Girls and Boys

Leave a comment