Skip to content

Why You Shouldn’t Cut Your Daughter’s Hair

February 28, 2012

Reagan harassed me all last week about wanting to go get her hair cut. Because someone else she knows got a haircut and she liked it, so she tried to get me to take her. I said that we don’t have time to do things like that during the week generally, but maybe one weekend. I specifically stated that we would not have time during the upcoming weekend because Jenny was having a big sleepover and Reagan had gymnastics and two birthday parties to attend.

Saturday afternoon, once the sleepover guests were gone and Reagan had returned from that day’s birthday party, she took a shower and came downstairs ready to convince me to take her for a haircut. My mistake was in sticking to what I’d said before (that we didn’t have time this weekend) and then saying that the only way she was getting a haircut this weekend was if I cut it. She said, “Okay!”

The number one reason this was a bad idea was the fact that I am not a hair professional. Not even close. Reagan wanted about two and a half inches cut off of her hair. I failed to take a before picture, but I’ve posted pictures of her fairly recently. Her hair was about three or four inches past her shoulders. So I got started. I pinned most of her hair up on her head like you’re supposed to and started with the bottom layer and cut a couple inches off. So far, so good.

The number two reason this was a bad idea was because we didn’t really have good scissors for hair cutting. We had some hair cutting scissors, but they weren’t quite as sharp as they should have been. So every time I made a cut, one end wouldn’t cut. I’m blaming the scissors for the fact that I couldn’t cut her hair evenly.

The number three reason this was a bad idea is because the only way to fix the uneven hair cut is to keep cutting until you think you have it straight. This meant I cut off about 6 inches instead of two.

I actually think it turned out pretty cute in the end, but it wasn’t quite what Reagan was going for. It’s definitely a little too short to put up in fancy braids or even a simple ponytail. We did manage short, stubby pigtails this morning though.

Jenny was planning to have me cut her hair, but she watched me butcher Reagan’s and started to change her mind. But I guess she decided she didn’t care, so she asked me to go ahead. Hers is a bit easier because you can hide some uneven cutting in curly hair.

Both girls after their haircuts:

And then torturing loving each other a little bit:

Brinky doesn’t need a haircut yet, but how cute is his little tiger butt?

Linking up with Yeah Write for a chance at some awesome blogging prizes!

41 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 9:07 am

    I love the haircuts! Reagan looks really cute with her hair that length. Her hair grows so fast, so it will be long again in no time at all. Jenny’s hair looks good at any length. And, of course, who wouldn’t love a tiger butt?

    • February 28, 2012 1:46 pm

      I think her hair does look good that length, but she didn’t want it that short 🙂
      The tiger butt is one of the outfits you sent Brinky – it looks so cute!

  2. February 28, 2012 10:16 am

    I think you did a fab job, they look great!!

    And yes, tiger butt is awesomely cute!

  3. February 28, 2012 11:56 am

    Looks like Reagan took it all in stride, anyway! They both look super cute.

    • February 28, 2012 1:46 pm

      She would never want to tell me if she didn’t like something I did anyway. She did whisper to Lee about how she wished I hadn’t put in layers because it makes it impossible to put up.

  4. February 28, 2012 12:27 pm

    I think you did a great job! And that tiger butt is too cute!

  5. February 28, 2012 2:30 pm

    Oh my goodness your kids are adorable! Reagan’s haircut looks very cute (I think she could pull of just about any style with that adorable smile).

  6. February 28, 2012 2:42 pm

    well done. Our daughter now demands to be taken to the hairdresser – depsite the fact her mum used to be one lol 😉

  7. February 28, 2012 6:39 pm

    Adorable!!! Your pics are great. And I think you did a great job with their hair. I can tell you that I couldn’t have done nearly as well. Mad props!!

  8. February 28, 2012 8:11 pm

    They look adorable and you are one brave Mumma for attempting that! And, (don’t think I’m a weirdo) but I want to pinch that chunky little tiger bum. I have two boys, 2 and 4 and I just love bums. Eeeee!

  9. laci512 permalink
    February 28, 2012 8:58 pm

    Their hair looks great!! My husband used to cut my girls hair. (Of course I will deny deny deny if he calls me on telling someone about it.) He would cut it one day and I would take them to the beauty shop the next day while he was at work. 🙂 You did a great joy.

  10. February 28, 2012 9:29 pm

    You did a great job! I could have never been that brave. I barely can cut Zane’s hair. Good job mama! It looks great!

  11. February 28, 2012 10:54 pm

    Awww, I think you did a great job! Luckily they don’t have bangs…

  12. February 28, 2012 11:03 pm

    Hey – the asymmetric look is in! At least on dresses and skirts. Maybe the asymmetric look will take to hair as well! 🙂

  13. February 28, 2012 11:07 pm

    Whew! Glad everyone ended up happy. Ellen

  14. February 29, 2012 12:27 am

    I’ve given my kids lots of haircuts and I’m glad hair grows back relatively fast:)
    My son is not a problem, he just gets a buzz cut with the clippers, but I haven’t touched my teenage daughter’s hair in a while…..

    • February 29, 2012 5:55 am

      The buzz cut is definitely much easier – I’ve cut my husband’s hair several times that way, and it’s no trouble.

  15. February 29, 2012 9:20 am

    You can cut my hair any day! Can’t believe how cute they both turned out with bad scissors! My girls would be bald!!

    • March 2, 2012 9:10 am

      Thanks, Kristen! It was hard work. When I saw the sign for a $5.99 cut at Great Clips the next morning, I definitely thought I should have gone with that option!

  16. February 29, 2012 12:20 pm

    This is why I will never cut my boy’s hair. Ever! My mom used to cut our bangs, and by the time she got them “even,” they were at our scalps! I must say your girls look super cute, though, even if the final product didn’t match the plan!

    • March 2, 2012 9:12 am

      I really thought I shouldn’t have volunteered – I never thought she’d take me up on it. And I don’t think I’ll do it again.

  17. February 29, 2012 7:00 pm

    It’s so much easier with my kid (summer months only). CLIPPERS!

    • March 2, 2012 9:13 am

      Yes, I have no problem with the clippers. I don’t think my girls would like the end result with those though 🙂

  18. March 1, 2012 9:24 pm

    ah, they’re looking FAB!! those girls are gorgeous, and that tiger butt is DELISH!

    • March 2, 2012 9:15 am

      Thanks! I’m trying not to make him wear that tiger butt outfit every single day, but it looks SO cute.

  19. nicole permalink
    March 2, 2012 1:25 pm

    Yay! So cute. Love it.

    • March 7, 2012 1:12 pm

      Reagan’s not loving the haircut yet. She’s hoping it will grow back out in the next week or so.

  20. March 2, 2012 4:22 pm

    Aw, they both look cute with their haircuts! I’ve almost exclusively cut my kids’ hair, sometimes with better results. 🙂

  21. March 2, 2012 4:25 pm

    Oh my gosh, I just reread what I wrote. I did NOT mean better than your results, I meant better than some of mine!!

Leave a comment